skip to Main Content

Testimonials & Videos

Testimonials are a way for practitioners to provide feedback about activities, as well as encouragement and helpful insights to other members. In addition to the video testimonials, the testimonials below are divided into three sections

Kenneth D Kligman, DDS, FICD, Woodstock, GA

Testimonial posted: Nov 18, 2020

Dentistry provides many opportunities for service along with professional growth. I feel participation in the National Dental Practice-Based Research Network enhances that professional growth. Furthering dental education takes many forms during practice; we attend CE courses, seminars, study clubs, peer interaction, volunteer work, journals, etc.

One of the rewards from participating in the National Dental Practice-Based Research Network is the ability of giving back to education. From a professional perspective, in partnership with practices across the country, we are able to add to the knowledge base needed to help with clinical decision making. This would be impossible without the academic support and guidance provided throughout the network. My office staff and participating patients have really enjoyed being part of our research projects, as they have not only contributed to evidence-based research but elevated the stature of our practice in the community.

From a personal perspective, my participation has been especially rewarding. Meetings have been engaging, as you interact with other practitioners from around the country, to discuss/evaluate real-world issues we encounter in everyday practice; it is like a national study club. For me, the connection back to academia has been special, including having the opportunity to give a talk to students at the University of Florida College of Dentistry, to simply encourage their participation in the research network. Suffice it to say, meeting with these energetic students was validation that the torch of dentistry will still burn bright with the next generation of dentists.

Randy Harvell, DMD, Hunstville, AL

Testimonial Posted on: Mar 20, 2013

I have been a member of the network for a number of years and have always found the open interaction with other practitioners to be one of the best parts of the annual meetings.  Although I covet the information garnered by the studies and presentation of the results, I find that I learn a lot from just hearing the open and honest experiences and observations of individual practitioners.  As individuals in an isolated private setting, we all make judgement calls and develop a personal “standard of care” which we adhere to in our diagnosis and treatment of patients.  Our clinical experience has guided and honed those standards over many years of practice.  Occasionally, something will come up in the literature that questions and even changes our minds on those standards and we modify and begin ‘testing’ the new standard in the little laboratory that is our office.  The same happens in our interactions with other practitioners we trust.  The multitude of interactions that occur at the network meetings magnify and accelerate that effect more than any other meeting I attend.  How much better it is to use the experience of so many to get the answers to real life problems! I believe this is what the network is all about.

An example of such a moment occurred during the breakouts this year at our annual meeting as we discussed a study proposal of cracked teeth, led by Dr. Jim Smith, a respected endodontist from Birmingham, AL. The practitioners around the table all shared how they currently handled the tooth which had obvious crack lines but no symptoms.  The consensus was to test with a bite stick and if asymptomatic to simply note and keep an eye on these cracks.  I have wavered back and forth over the years, having read suggestions both ways in the literature and among my group of friends.  I have had streaks of advocating crowns and ‘watching’ at other times.  However, the most unanimous agreement of the discussion group gave me confidence to use the more conservative standard for asymptomatic teeth in the future.  Although I will be interested to see the eventual results of the study down the road, and will no doubt garner further insights concerning the treatment of cracked teeth from it, as a practicing dentist I have to make decisions while awaiting those results, and so I use what I heard at the breakout to guide me where my ‘standards’ now tell me to go.

Mike Bauer, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 2, 2011

I have been involved as a co-author on three manuscripts that have reported results from certain network studies. When contemplating the results and contributing to the discussion, I start to take inventory of my current practice patterns.

Recently I was involved in a manuscript that will report on the use of rubber dam by network dentists during root canal treatment. My practice pattern was to use it for all posterior teeth, but not all anterior teeth. I have changed that pattern as a result of my involvement. I met with my dental assistants to inform them of this change in my clinical practice. I also discussed these results with the other dentists in our clinic. One dentist, a 2008 graduate of the University of Minnesota, reported that she was taught that if you cannot place a rubber dam, the patient should be referred to an endodontist or an extraction should be considered. I can report that our clinic has used results from this  study and made changes that will improve the quality and safety of the care that we deliver to our patients. I can attest to the fact that National Dental PBRN participation has changed the way that I practice, and my patients benefit from this!

Dr. Noel Spurlock

Ms. Jennifer Guidoni, RDH

Testimonal Posted on: Aug 18, 2010

As a full time hygienist of a busy practice, I thought the participation in the studies would interrupt the normal course of the dental office. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out how easy these studies were. Our patients were very receptive to the fact that we were helping with a research project through the university. We had an appreciation from our patients when we asked them to be a participant. We have participated, as an office, in three studies and all of the personnel in our office have enjoyed them.

By participating as a researcher, I have witnessed a rejuvenation of my own efforts in the practice; being a hygienist for 27 years, you tend to need inspiration at times. This form of practice-based research has continued to encourage me to practice at the highest level achievable with each and every patient as it may ultimately influence others.

Paul Benjamin, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Aug 7, 2008

The National Dental PBRN has had a positive influence on me and my practice. It has re-energized my enthusiasm by challenging me to improve my critical thinking. Doing these research studies has gently nudged me to stay current, making me a better clinical scientist and in doing so, has opened a new avenue for my professional development. Finally, by connecting me with other network dentists, this experience makes me feel less isolated from my colleagues.

Stanley Asensio, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Aug 7, 2008

Being part of the National Dental PBRN has changed my life! It has given me the opportunity to see the clinical practice of dentistry in a different way. Since I began with the group, my diagnostic skills have been sharpened and my patient care has benefited. When you are a solo private practitioner, port holes that let you look into other offices, in order to learn what they do, is an invaluable tool. This connection has also given me the opportunity to meet some new friends. So, come on in and be part of the best practice-based research in dentistry today….

Louis Roque, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Aug 5, 2008

Growing up with a deep love of science, it was only natural that I choose a career in the same field, but part of me still longed for the real science that only research can offer.

When I was approached by the  network, I did not hesitate; my answer had to be YES! The National Dental PBRN offers dentists like myself the opportunity to do real science and research while still practicing our livelihood.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to participate. DENTAL PRACTICE-BASED RESEARCH CHANGES LIVES.

Karen Raleigh, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 19, 2007

I was first encouraged to participate in the network by Dr. Brad Rindal. However it was at the regional meeting last fall when I really became enthusiatic as I listened to presenters and participants from around the world. I realized how much this impacts my day to day practice as well as the future of evidence-based dentistry.

Participating in the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” has fit smoothly into my practice and I find it pertinent to compare my initial diagnosis with my findings as I restore teeth. I would encourage everyone to get involved and to attend the regional meeting this year.

Randall Palmore, DMD, FAGD

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 7, 2007

I was thrilled when I first heard that our Dental School at UAB was awarded one of the three grants nationally to participate in a Dental Practice-Based Research Network. I knew immediately that I wanted my dental team to become a part of the “practitioner-investigators” withthe network .

As an Alabama dentist I felt this to be an incredible opportunity to participate in clinical studies that could impact my entire profession. Relevant clinical research will aid my fellow dentists and me in diagnosing and treating our patients with data collected from the “real world” of private practice.

Our office team has participated in research that looked at Root Canal Therapy in Diabetic Patients, an Oral Cancer Preventive Project, network study “Asessment of caries diagnosis and caries treatment” and study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”, both involving methods used to diagnose and treat dental caries. Our relationship with UAB through the network has been very rewarding for my entire team. Working with the network staff has been a pleasure. We take pride in our practice and our profession and we realize a solid scientific foundation is fundamental for the many different procedures we perform. Many of our patients have commented on our continued effort to give the very best care and the confidence knowing we are in “partnership” with UAB on research projects.

M. Wendy Holder, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 4, 2007

As a dental student, I had the unique opportunity of transferring from Emory Dental School, due to its closing, to the UAB School of Dentistry in my junior year. It became quickly apparent that each university system endorsed different methods for the same procedure. Upon graduation and working under the experience of a private dentist, I was exposed to still a different way of doing the same dental procedure. CE’s and journal articles would suggest still another method of perform the same procedure. So which way is right? What really lasts and is of greater benefit for our patients?

The National Dental PBRN offers a way to find answers to these questions. Today, we as dental practitioners involved with the network, can gather information for current dental research. This will allow us as clinicians to challenge long held presumptions in the field of dentistry and continue to stay abreast of new knowledge. It gives us the opportunity to learn with others as we participate in these studies. With the aid of researchers we can set the parameters needed for testing and together we can have a significant positive impact on our patient population. We will be able to establish true best practices to improve our profession and enhance the level of care to our patients.

Charles J. Keith, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jul 18, 2007

My experience with the network has been very favorable beginning with the informational and relaxing weekend meeting at the Ross Bridge Resort in March.  After learning that the studies are designed to improve dental care through “real world” dental research rather than manufacturer-sponsored studies, I felt not only a desire, but also an obligation to my profession to participate. I have recently completed network study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” which I found extremely easy to implement in my practice. Patients seemed to be impressed that our office was involved in international dental research and were eager to become involved. I look forward to participating in future studies and would urge more dental offices to become involved.

Dr. George J. Allen, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jul 17, 2007

The National Dental PBRN is an avenue that allows research to extend beyond a controlled clinical setting by performing research in private dental practices. In my dental career, I have been in situations where I have wondered how another dentist would diagnose and treat some of the cases I encounter. Prior to the formation of the network, the primary sources of information that were available came from dental journals, where research is conducted in a clinical setting. While these articles are helpful, I have found that procedures are sometimes done differently in a private office setting. The network is set up to research information like this by tapping the wealth of data that can be attained from everyday dental practitioners.

I was glad to attend the first class at UAB and wanted to be a part of the network. I have participated on several studies, but found  study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” to be the most “hands on“ study thus far. I am looking forward to reviewing the results of all of the studies that the network has conducted. The research director and his research staff show a lot of enthusiasm for the program as was observed at the Ross Bridge meeting held in March of 2007. At this meeting, I had a chance to meet with other dentists that feel the same way as I do about this network. The “ Lunch and Learn” idea is very helpful, and makes it easier to participate in the project, because you have someone to call when you need assistance. I hope I can contribute to the network for many studies to come.

Gerald A. Anderson, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jul 17, 2007

I attended the network orientation meeting a few years back and was excited about participating with this group. I completed  study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” on restorative materials a few months ago and was interested with what I learned about the types of materials I placed. It gave me great insight into how and where I used certain materials and an overall view of what I was doing. My patients were very interested in what I was doing and loved the fact that I was involved with cutting edge research. The training that our office received before beginning the study made every thing go so smoothly. I also attended the annual meeting in Birmingham in March 2007 and was so inspired to continue with this practice network to affect dental research first hand. This has been an opportunity that has greatly impacted not only my patients and staff but also my daily practice of dentistry.

Harold Emmons, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 23, 2007

Last year I had the opportunity to join the network. Although I have been practicing dentistry for 23 years, it has opened my eyes to the world of research. I have recently completed study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”. The fears of ‘practice disruption’ were unfounded. With the excellent training my staff received, the study quickly became second nature.

In March we had our first South Central regional meeting at Ross Bridge. The meeting had a variety of speakers, but the most important part of the meeting was the round table discussions. Leading one table, I was able to direct the conversation to give practical input regarding upcoming studies.

Patient response has been wonderful. No one has declined to be on the study. This involvement with UAB and the NIH brings us to the cutting edge of dentistry. It shows our patients that we care and that we want to constantly improve. And just as exciting is the expansion of involvement within the practice as my 2 partners become involved.

Mary T Wallace, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 10, 2007

I began working with the network from the initial meeting. It has gained momentum and is going strong. There was a lot of excitement and enthusiasm from the onset, but I think there is even more passion about the projects now.

I worked with the DTC: Dental Tobacco Control (“An Internet Intervention to Improve Oral Cancer Prevention”) project. My patients and staff were very excited that we were participating. I think they felt that our participation indicated a strong commitment to our patients’ overall health-that we cared. We have had several of our patients actually quit smoking. They called us back months after their appointments and said, “Tell her I’ve quit, and thanks!” I think the project has made us much more aware of our responsibilities as health providers.

I attended the annual meeting of the South Central practitioner-investigators at Ross Bridge March 9th and 10th, 2007. It was fabulous-the informative seminars, the environment, and the wonderful food. I became aware of  study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” and decided to participate. I’m eager to get started.

George Morarasu, DDS, PhD

Testimonal Posted on: Feb 27, 2007

I learned that the network is all about a big family that wants to incorporate the day-to-day practice into research, so that research can then become part of daily clinical practice and the idea of “Evidence-based dentistry” gets a real basis.

Network study “Assessment of caries diagnosis and caries treatment” came with strategic relevance and timeliness impact. The study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” followed and its relevance, efficacy and efficiency will bring a great institutional and practitioner development impact in the future.

The two studies go very well together and even if they bring us back to the basics they are a welcome refreshment, giving you perspective about what you are doing. Incorporating the studies in the practice came naturally, becoming a quick addition of the existing protocol.

The medical model, enhancing preventive care and incorporating risk management in the clinic, represents the avenue towards modern dentistry. PBRN will help us carry on the mission to bring this in everyday practice.

Edward C. Bozeman, Jr., DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Feb 8, 2007

I have been involved with the network from the outset. My first experience as a practitioner-investigator was  study “Assessment of caries diagnosis and caries treatment”, which involved a written questionnaire that sought information that I use in my daily routine to make clinical decisions involving new carious lesions in my patients. I am presently in study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” which requires a more in depth participation but one that was extremely easy to incorporate into my normal practice routine. The Research Coordinator provided the most thorough orientation and training to my office staff along with all the materials we needed to carry out the Study. She has followed up on our progress and provided any needed assistance along the way. During study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” she even made some changes to reduce paperwork requirements which greatly reduced the time required to obtain patient consent. I am glad I chose to participate in the nertwork because I have great support from the research staff at UAB, it keeps me involved in the academic side of dentistry, and I believe the information we gather and share will improve the way dental care is delivered to our patients. I encourage all UAB dental alumni to seriously consider becoming a part of this project.

Martha Wallace, DMD, MPH, MS

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 6, 2005

The National Dental PBRN has had a significant positive impact on both me and my practice in that it offers professional interaction that is difficult for lone practitioners to find on a daily basis. It allows our patients the opportunity to participate in cutting-edge practical research. Moreover, we can answer routine and perplexing questions with our local colleagues as the research team. This allows us to develop our own opinions without relying as much on the manufacturers reps. This concept will surely grow in significance and usefulness to our practices.

Videos on our YouTube channel contains all of our network videos including study results, testimonials,
news, and presentations. The channel has the following individual playlists:

Anthony J. Tortomasi, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 18, 2011

Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy
Persistent pain and root canal therapy

My staff and I participated in the network study “Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy“ and “Persistent pain and root canal therapy“. This was my first  study and it was a good experience. The study data packets were well organized and after the first couple of patients data collection went along smoothly. Participation rate for the study was good and I look forward to learning the study results. I am especially interested in being able to compare the findings from our practice to other practices. I hope that this study and others like it help to improve the quality of dental care. My staff and I look forward to participating in future network studies.

James A. Smith, Jr., DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 1, 2011

Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy
Persistent pain and root canal therapy

My staff and I participated in the Perioperative Pain and Root Canal Therapy and the Persistent Pain and Root Canal Therapy studies. This was our first time to be involved with a clinical study and the experience was a very good one. Most of the patients who were asked to participate were very willing and seemed to take ownership in the fact that they were contributing to clinical knowledge that will help others. We hope to be involved with future National Dental PBRN projects.

Emery “Mike” Cole, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Feb 23, 2011

Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy
Persistent pain and root canal therapy

My participation in the studies, “Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy” and “Persistent pain and root canal therapy”, was not only an informative experience for the practice but also for the patients. After participating in several studies, I have concluded that many patients feel a sense of “contribution” to the evolution of dentisty. As a participating dentist, this study encouraged a review of the routines that I curently use in root canal therapy and the reasons behind those routines. I look forward to the results and conclusions of these studies in hope of improving the manner in which I practice dentistry.

The study flowed very well in the office and the data forms were easily implemented before, during and after treatment. Staff and dentist training was excellent and this resulted in the ease at which patients were enrolled and the resulting high acceptance rate of participation.

James Ballard, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 18, 2011

Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy
Persistent pain and root canal therapy

My staff and I participated in the study “Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy“ and “Persistent pain and root canal therapy“. I was recommended to participate in this study and join the network by Dr. Ann O’Rear, a general dentist in Pelham, Alabama, who has participated in several studies. This is the first study I have participated in and I felt it would be a challenge in my busy office, but after the first few patients things went along smoothly.

The data packets were well organized and instructions about how to complete the data forms was clear. I felt that taking part in a study that will provide information beneficial to my patients is important. My staff and I are looking forward to learning the results of the information gathered, and we are pleased to know that the individual results for our practice will be provided.

Ronald Dichiara, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Oct 12, 2010

Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy
Persistent pain and root canal therapy

The root canal studies entitled “Peri-operative pain and root canal therapy“ and “Persistent pain and root canal therapy“ were the first network projects in which I and my office participated. I was recruited to join the network by Dr. Jocelyn McClelland, a general dentist in Alabaster, Alabama, who has participated in several studies and who has presented findings at national and international research meetings.

These studies can be challenging because of the perceptions that many patients have when coming to an endodontist for root canal treatment, especially when they are in pain. However, they typically understand the importance of doing studies, and they see our practice as something “special” because we are participating in studies designed to improve their health outcomes and quality of care. Participation rates have been very good and we are eager to see the results from these studies. I am especially interested in being able to compare the findings from our practice to other practices anonymously throughout the network.

Alan Law, DDS, PhD

Testimonal Posted on: Sep 22, 2010

Peri-Operative Pain and Root Canal Therapy
Persistent Pain and Root Canal Therapy

I joined the nation’s network because I wanted to be part of a group that is attempting to answer questions that most practitioners ask. I have not been disappointed. In fact, I continue to be pleased and inspired by the enthusiasm of other clinician-investigators. What I had not expected to see was the level of commitment that my office team has demonstrated. After an initial period of getting organized, the network studies on root canal therapy quickly became part of our daily routine. I feel that patients sensed the comfort level of the team which made them more willing to enroll in the study. Out of 34 patients, only one did not enroll. We look forward to participating in future studies.

Dr. Robert W. Rives

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 7, 2010

Network Study: Blood sugar testing in dental practice

My office recently participated in the  Blood Sugar Study. The staff enjoyed participation as it was something out of the ordinary and a new avenue for treatment. As much emphasis as has been seen lately on the relation between diabetes and periodontal disease, as well as periodontal disease and other systemic disease of inflammatory origin, I feel that routine testing of blood glucose levels could become a useful tool. The outcome of periodontal treatment could be improved, as well as improvement in the overall health of the patient. The study was well received by the patients and easy to implement with the help of the coordinator from the network.

Dr. Adolphus Jackson, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 26, 2010

Network study: Blood sugar testing in dental practice

My staff and I were delighted to be a part of the study on Blood Glucose levels. One health risk that we already check as a standard rule is high blood pressure. This has proven to be effective in identifying patients who may be at risk of having hypertension. The testing of blood glucose levels in the dental office would definitely be useful in the dental setting. The patients were receptive to the idea of being able to know if their blood glucose level was within normal range. As a health care provider it is important for me to be able to give my patients as much information as possible about the effects of various health conditions on their dental health. It also shows that we are not only concerned about their dental health but their overall health and well being. Our patients were impressed to know that we place great emphasis on their total health by participating in the study. The staff enjoyed being a part of the study and we all look forward to participating in future studies. It’s a positive benefit for both the patients and the practice.

Dr. Wilson Wright, Jr.

Testimonal Posted on: Dec 11, 2009

Network study: Blood sugar testing in dental practice

Because dentists are health care professionals who perform risk assessments of patients’ oral health, they are trained to look for associations between oral and non-oral diseases. This should include chair-side screening and testing for certain non-oral diseases, such as high blood pressure and diabetes mellitus. In this DPBRN study about blood glucose screening in the dental office, many of our screened patients stated that this test was the first time that they had ever had this done.

We are glad that we participated in this study for several reasons. For example, these tests afford the dentist an opportune position to enhance the overall health and well-being of their patients. Our patients seemed impressed that we were conducting a scientific study and that we are part of an international practice-based research network. We feel that our participation not only benefits our patients, but that it also benefits the stature and quality of our practice.

Dr. Rick Redmond

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 16, 2009

Network studies: Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations and Patient satisfaction with dental restorations

I enjoyed participating in the study “Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations”. All of the studies have been easy to incorporate into my practice with a minimum of hassle for both me and my staff, and this study was no exception.

I find it interesting to participate in research with actual clinical results and relevance. The long term results of this study should reveal a lot of trends in the use and longevity of different restoration materials. My patients, on the whole, were more than happy to take part in the study and I feel they liked helping UAB and the dental school by being in this study.

Dr. Michael Mann

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 13, 2009

Network studies: Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations and Patient satisfaction with dental restorations

The network study “Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations” seemed to take longer than the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” because most of the replacement restorations were single restorations. I was surprised how many restorations required replacement for reasons other that recurrent marginal caries (eg: tooth fracture, restoration fracture, caries in other surfaces, etc.) That’s the interesting thing about clinical research. Recorded data will sometimes point out unexpected trends that otherwise go unrecognized.

Our patients didn’t hesitate to participate when asked. I will be interested to see what the response to the survey reveals and how patient observations compare with ours.

Dr. Thomas Walker

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 13, 2009

Network studies: Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations and Patient satisfaction with dental restorations

Network study “Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations” was easier to complete than the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”. The forms were very concise and streamlined. The Research Coordinator came to our office and in her usual, vibrant way thoroughly explained everything for myself and my staff. The staff seemed to enjoy the study “Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations” more since the forms seemed easier than the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”. The patients were more than willing to participate since the $10 gift certificate was involved and we only heard positive feedback from them. As always it is a joy to work with the network and I look forward to seeing the results of this study.

Dr. Jocelyn McClelland

Testimonal Posted on: Jan 13, 2009

The National Dental PBRN study: Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces

Since being a participant in the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”, the ease and familiarity of the forms for the study “Reasons for replacement or repair of dental restorations” made it a very easy progression for myself and my staff. My patients responded very positively when asked for their participation in the study “Patient satisfaction with dental restorations”, filling out the questionnaire, feeling as if they, too, were able to play a role in the research project.

George J. Allen, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Jul 10, 2008

National Dental PBRN study: CONDOR study of ONJ

When I was requested to participate in the “CONDOR study of ONJ”, I accepted with great enthusiasm. My previous experience with studies “Assessment of caries diagnosis and caries treatment” and “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” made me confident in completing research projects in a busy practice as well as in the positive impact it has on my patients and my practice. The “CONDOR study of ONJ” gave me the opportunity to contribute to the body of knowledge on the osteonecrosis of the jaw. Completing patient dental histories, seemingly daunting at first, proved to be a great learning experience. The data collection forms were easy to understand and well organized. Going through the forms, I realized that I can use certain parts of them in my own dental records. The information I received from the network staff made the process go smoothly and much quicker than expected.

William G. King, Jr, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Mar 10, 2008

Network study: CONDOR study of ONJ

In the past few years I have had patients with Osteonecrosis of the jaws (ONJ) in my practice and therefore I was attracted by the study “CONDOR study of ONJ”. It was my first participation in network studies and the research staff was very supportive throughout the study. I was able to complete the required training on my own pace and be ready for data collection in due time. The selection process of the controls was straight-forward and did not require much time from my staff. The instructions were clear and help was only a phone call away. I was impressed by the design of the data collection forms and by the in-depth information required by this study. Abstracting data from the charts made me appreciate the level of detail required by this type of study and the importance of maintaining detailed dental records. My patients who participated in the study had a positive experience and appreciated my involvement in this study. I believe that the ONJ study will have a great impact on the care of our patients and I am looking forward to future network studies.

Jeffrey Houtz, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Oct 10, 2007

National Dental PBRN study: Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces

I participated in the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”. Patients were very interested in being included in this research. After the initial learning curve, the data entry did not make my practice less efficient. I greatly value the principles of clinic-based dental research. Through these controlled scientific studies, dentists can learn which techniques are truly effective and evidence based. I am looking forward to future studies.

Lee Segrest, DMD

Testimonal Posted on: Apr 20, 2007

Network study: Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces

Initially, I was concerned about becoming involved with the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces” because of how it might impact our daily routine at the office. Because of the training and orientation that the network team provided, the process of obtaining the needed information and the patient’s consent was easily incorporated into the practice flow without causing any hardship. Most patients are more than willing to participate-no one has refused thus far-and they seem impressed that our practice is taking part in the study. In addition, the information obtained in the study is sure to impact the practice of dentistry in the near future with reliable clinical data that will allow us to provide optimal care for our patients.

Mike Bauer, DDS

Testimonal Posted on: Feb 16, 2007

National Dental PBRN study: Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces

I was involved in the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”. While I found the study very easy to incorporate into my daily practice routine, I have found that my staff members became interested and engaged as well. They wanted to know what the study was about and why we were participating. They saw how our practice philosophy of evidence based care and minimally invasive dentistry fit into the broader practice of dentistry throughout the United States. I recommend that all dentists get involved.

James L. Sanderson Jr. DMD LLC

Testimonal Posted on: Feb 15, 2007

National Dental PBRN study: Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces

Our clinical team completed the study “Reasons for placing the first restoration on permanent tooth surfaces”, which involved documenting the restoration of previously unaffected tooth surfaces. After the Research Coordinator trained our team, we were able to implement the study without impacting our daily routine. The Research Coordinator made herself available any time we had questions about the study; but because of her thorough training and well- developed documentation, we have had little need to contact her. Patients who qualified as subjects for the study are asked if they were willing to participate and we did not have anyone refuse to participate. The way the process was set up the patients were comfortable with allowing us to gather the needed information. Most really appreciated the fact that we were working with this group.

Based on our experience, we will gladly participate in future studies.

Thanks for the OPPORTUNITY !

If you would like to provide a testimonial, please contact your Regional Coordinator:

South Central region:
Ellen Sowell esowell@uab.edu

South Atlantic region:
Deborah McEdward dmcedward@dental.ufl.edu

Midwest region:
Tracy Shea tracy.l.shea@healthpartners.com

Western region:
Celeste Machen celeste.machen@kpchr.org

Northeast region:
Kathy Bohn kathy_bohn@urmc.rochester.edu

Southwest region:
Rahma Mungia mungia@uthscsa.edu